Bunke among top three selected for judge seat

  The Judicial Nomination Commission has submitted the names of Garry Bunke, Michael Hayworth, and Sheila Newman to the Governor for consideration for appointment to the seat vacated by the death of Judge Gary Day in the 16th Judicial District.  The 16th Judicial District covers Carter, Custer, Fallon, Garfield, Powder River, Rosebud, and Treasure Counties. 

The Commission’s action follows the close of a 30-day public comment period.  Before recommending the nominees to the Governor, Commission members interviewed the applicants.  The Governor must fill the position within 30 days of receipt of the nominees from the Commission.  The nominee appointed by the Governor will serve until January 2015.  The position is subject to election at the primary and general elections in 2014.  The successful candidate will serve for the remainder of Judge Day’s term, which expires in January 2019.
The Judicial Nomination Commission members are District Judge Richard Simonton of Glendive; Shirley Ball of Nashua; Mona Charles of Kalispell; Patrick Kelly of Miles City; Lane Larson of Billings; Ryan Rusche of Columbia Falls; and Paul Tuss of Havre.  

Published May 22, 2013

Article Type: 


How would you feel about a four-day school week in Terry?: